An adventure in sewing

Standard

  
This morning I managed to draft my very own skirt sloper grow scratch. I’m really pleased with it. 

Let me now introduce you to ‘Betty’ my new dress form. I thought I would start with making the skirt to fit her, as I could then use this as a cover before I start to pad her out. 

  
All I need to do now is slip stitch the seam to finish off. 

I’m sure ‘Betty’ is really pleased she has clothes!

  
One more week until the school holidays. Next dress making project will be the top. I’ve watched that class it does not look that easy.  I’m off to watch more craftsy, oh & mark some physics books for the last time this year. 

16 responses »

  1. I like that outfit.It looks lightweight and cool perfect for summertime. Well done. πŸ™‚
    I’ve never had a dress form. I think they’d be a great help to design your own clothes. I wish you much enjoyment and fun in sewing. πŸ™‚

    • I hope so too. I thought it would be good to start with something regular sized, before starting on myself. She needs a bit of padding in the bust & lower body. I’ve also got another craftsy class, to make her into my body double. I think I might need to loose a little weight. It will be an interesting journey, as I have a large bust & a small waist . I am also short in height. So tops & dresses can some time be a problem.
      Thank you, I hope you might feel inspired to have a go too.

    • Mum & I have ‘some ‘ batting/ wadding left over from quilting, so I thought I could use that for the lower body. I’ve got an old soft bar top that’s slightly padded, I thought I might be able to stuff that, it’s an F cup I’m aiming for here. I guess I will follow some of the advice in the class & try a bit of innovation of my own.

  2. Betty is looking very chic ^^
    My Doris just has an old roll-neck Tshirt and the pants part of a pair of tights to cover her up ^^

    • Thank you. She has been wearing my silk cover up for a while, simply because she freaked poor Luna out so much. Luna seems to prefer her fully dressed. I’ve stood her in the spare front bed room, next to the window. Perhaps she will freak out the neighbours.

  3. First things first, thank you for your visit! I had wondered how you found me and then I noticed Kate up at the top. πŸ˜‰ Second, is there anything you can’t do? Your creative endeavors are quite extensive! Bravo! And finally, I love that you dressed Betty. My poor girl is standing in the corner in a men’s muscle top. You have made me realize that I now have the perfect use for an old, and very lovely, Japanese, painted silk, kimono that had been my mother-in-laws. It has been hiding in a chifferobe for over 20 years! About time I got it out where I can enjoy it.

    • Thanks, I think I am one of those people who cannot stop. I craft to give me a break from school stuff to stop myself burning out. ( yes, I have almost done that) thank you again for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

