SAL & Jacobean crewel work

Standard

Instead of working on my zodiac sampler along side my piece of work for the royal school of needlework, I have been concentrating on finishing my crewel work & attempting to get it into this times assessment phase or at least finished so I can start my next piece in September.  The bunny is almost finished, he needs an eye & a little definition on his nose.  I’m not happy  with yellow & purple leaf & the stitch the tutor suggested, it looks too bulky & fluffy for me so it’s coming out, & back to my original idea.

If you would like to visit the other members of the group please click on the links below, if you would like to join the group please contact Avis.

44 responses »

  1. This looks great! A very cute bunny. I hope you can get it done in the extra classes available. Remember you need some open areas to stay in the style of Jacobean and to get the balance, so whatever stitches you choose to replace it with I would keep this in mind.

    • Thanks, the original plan was back stitch either laced or whipped, with a few French knots. I’ve put that in this morning I’m much happier & it’s more open looking.

  2. I’ve always loved Jacobean designs. Your colors and stitches are wonderful! I wish you the best as you finish it up and look forward to seeing the end product in all it’s glory. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love the design of this. It looks like a landscape in a sci-fi book – absolutely gorgeous. (and you can’t stop me from stroking my screen LOL)

  4. Everything is beautiful and the bunny has become very handsome. I love French knots but lately prefer Colonial knots as I finding they sit better for me.

  5. I think I agree with you, the little yellow and purple leaf does not sit in neatly with the rest of your design, I think it is the edging stitch more than the inner stitch. Loving the little bunny and hillocks! Can’t wait to see it finished.

Leave a Reply

